When spores go bad

This is a post about mould. Hear me out. I can’t say I saw myself writing about the merits of house cleaning but I promise to make this interesting (hopefully) and life-changing (almost probably). Winter is upon us and with that comes rain, dampness and spores. Insidious little spores which quickly become big evil spores. We used to zap them with Exit Mould, but having a baby in the house I’ve become painfully aware of toxicity levels in everyday household cleaning products. Something about getting the gag reflex on spraying said mould-killer made me question why we use it. Likewise with fly spray. That’s some evil shit right there folks. I say bring back the fly swatter and relive the golden years of your grandparents…sitting around in a hot, humid, brown-tinged lounge, watching Coronation Street, swatting flies during the ad breaks and smoking another cigarette. Well, maybe not that last bit.

Anyway, my bathroom needs some attention. And my attention has recently been drawn to the natural ways of Wendyl the Green Goddess which champion the organic and banish the toxic in every aspect of our lives. It’s not that hard to bring a bit of this into your life. As per usual I sit halfway between disinterested and over-zealous. I figure a bit less toxicity in my life is a good thing, even if I haven’t got the energy to go the full monty. Without wanting this to sound like an advertisement (it’s not) I’ve recently come upon the friendly folks at Lotus Oils who make this going natural bizzo a whole lot easier. It’s pretty much a one-stop-shop for all those ingredients you think are too hard to find. And it all turns up on your doorstep faster than you can say “online shopping”.


What I find so beguiling about natural remedies is the smells…how can you possibly deny the appeal of a spray which treats mouldy surfaces using ingredients such as lemon, lavender and tea tree oils. I’m positively excited at the very thought of my house smelling like that. I might spray it on everything, mould or not. So go forth little ones…all it takes is a few simple ingredients and a bit of elbow grease and you’ll not only be mould-free but probably carefree to boot.

MOULD MAGIC

INGREDIENTS
Baking soda
Liquid soap
Lemon oil
Lavender oil
Tea tree oil
Spray bottle

METHOD
1. First…mix up a thick paste of baking soda and water with a squirt or two of liquid soap and bring out your best wax-on-wax-off to remove the surface mould.
2. Allow the surfaces to dry then apply the following mould preventer.
3. Fill a spray bottle with 2 cups of water then add 20 drops each of the lemon, lavender and tea tree oils. Shake well and spray where the mould is likely to grow. Don’t wipe it off, just let it dry naturally.

Wendyl recommends using the spray preventer 2-3 times per year during the wet and humid seasons.